top of page

Week 2 Reflective Summary

Learning with Digital Stories, week 2! Am I the only person feeling this week(and last week) went by so fast that it feels like only four days instead of seven?

After the challenging first week, I was more prepared in the week 2 activities, even though they are still dazzling and lots to take in. Making a to-do list on my calendar helped me on track of the class activities. On Friday morning, I received the first verbal message from Remi. I was scared to open the file and listen to his comments as I am worried that my work is not up to his expectation. But his kind words are very encouraging and just kept me going. (Remi, Sara is the name I go by at work to make it easy for people to call since sometimes people are calling me "Ian" when my real name is Lan. You can call me both, I will not be offended at all).

This week, I was able to read more "recommended reading" besides than "required reading". I really enjoy reading An Open Letter to My Students by Kris Shaffer. I found his teaching philosophy is very much like mine and thus I felt very related to his writing. I appreciate Shaffer covering many aspects of the teaching and learning and he explain them in depth yet with simplicity. His letter has inspired me to write a similar letter to my student for this coming fall semester.

I enjoy making the critique for the digital story in our interested scholarship. I am getting familiar with the assessment traits. When I am searching for the digital stories, I found myself automatically evaluating them in my mind with various traits. For this week' critique, I chose one not so perfect video to start with - There are many elements could use some improvement for the select digital story. I felt like I am learning more digital storytelling skills by watching the "inferior" video as it reminds me what work I would be making for my initial try. I will try not to make the same mistakes that I reviewed from the video.

I believe my performance for this week is "meet expectations" as I have finished my assignments on time. I have participated the discussion on Hypothes.is. Twitter is coming along, so is Daily Creates.


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page